Love my son with Asperger’s, he is…

Love my son with Asperger’s, he is…


I remember before I had my son all I wanted was to have a child.  I was definitely one of those people that felt a strong urge to be a mother.   When he was born I knew I had made the right decision.  Don’t get me wrong I had “what was I thinking” tired moments in the middle of the night like any other new mom but I have always really enjoyed being a mom.

I remember watching him sleep and thinking that this was my purpose in life.  To be his mom.  That was before I even knew that I would need to fight for him every step of the way.  Today I feel an even stronger bond after being through so much with him.

Not only do I have a deep love for my son but I truly like him as a person.  He is one of my favorite people to hang out with.  Although lately he doesn’t want to hang out with Mom anymore, he is 14.  I try to understand and give him his space.

I have shared on this blog that he has struggled with this new diagnosis of Asperger’s.  I tell him all the diagnoses of Asperger’s does not define him.   It does not describe everything about him but explains some of the things that he does.  For example his lack of eye contact which otherwise could be misinterpreted.  Just as being diabetic does not define someone but explains why they may not join in for birthday cake at the office.

I love my son with all of my heart and I would love him no matter what diagnosis he had.  He has other diagnoses but knowing he has Asperger’s does help me to understand him.  He is…


Comments

  1. Thanks so much for dropping by the Be-Bop-A Blog Hop! I’m a follower and I hope you’ll stop by again soon! Have a great day! 🙂

    http://www.mommylivingthelifeofriley.com

  2. Having a child really does change a person. My son is 2 and I know I am only begining to discover the person he will become one day. What amazes me most is to think that I created him. He will be the greatest legacy I leave to the world!
    You’re son is lucky to have a mother as supportive and loving as you.
    When he’s no longer a teenager, he will remember that again. Good luck with the next 5 years. 🙂

Leave a Reply

