A Fascinating Aspergian Mind

A Fascinating Aspergian Mind


I am not claiming that my son is a savant like Daniel Tammet or anything but he does have a fascinating mind. I really need to read Daniel’s books by the way because I do find him to be very fascinating. But I also find my son to be very fascinating as well.

My son taught himself to add when he was only 4 years old. A woman asked him how old he was and he held up four fingers and said “I am four, but soon I will be five” and held up his other hand with all five digits. He then exclaimed “HEY! 4 plus 5 equals 9!” I believe the woman and myself were just as shocked as he was in that moment. So began his love for math.

I remember once in 3rd grade he was reciting math in the back seat (as he often did since age 4) and I noticed he was reciting math that I had not seen on his assignments. When I questioned him about it he told me that he kept getting in trouble and had to stay in for recess. He explained he had to go sit in the fifth grade classroom and it was always math time. He said it was his favorite part of his day. Of course the school didn’t want to hear that he needed to maybe stay in the fifth grade math class. Of course that is now all behind us because he is in the highest math for his grade now and he loves it 🙂

He has been obsessed with Pi over the years and he loves it when they celebrate Pi day at school. Not sure they do that at high school… Hmm, thinking I need to plan with the case manager this year to make it a big event in class. After I read Daniel Tammet’s book I will have to get my son to read it. My son has only memorized the first 15 or so digits after the decimal point. I know because he recites the numbers often.

He has always been obsessed with snow and one day it was super cold in our house. We thought the thermostat or the furnace was broken and finally my husband looked at the thermostat and realized it was set to the coldest temperature possible. We decided to ask him and he said he did it because he wanted it to snow in our house. He was probably five at the time! Below is a picture from last year. When it snows is when he goes outside to play, not in the summer!

The other thing he figured out on his own was the DVR! Imagine our surprise when we went to find a show and the whole DVR was full with SpongeBob and Power Rangers!

I am sure I can think of other interesting things my son has figured out on his own and write all day. But I would love to hear from any of you about the fun things your kid has thought of or become obsessed with?

Comments

  1. LOL! “Snow in the House”. My 12 year-old stumps the workers in the Apple store with his knowledge and questions about all things Apple, computers, ipods, IPads etc. I didn’t need a “one on one” class with Apple when I got my new Macbook Air…he taught me everything I needed to know by doing his own research on Mac Operating systems.

  2. Wow! That is amazing. I can’t imagine what it would be like to have a four year old who knows how to add.

  3. What a great story! I love it when parents really take the time to appreciate their childs strengths (of which your son seems to have MANY). So often we get caught up in focusing on the negative. I’m new to your blog, but I’ll be sure to check back.

  4. We have a reader. He sees letters in everything. He was spelling out words with magnetic letters on my fridge before he could speak. I thought it was my stepson (7 at the time) but one morning while I was making breakfast my non-verbal 3 year old spelled out “Mommy”, and then came to take my hand and lead me to his masterpiece. Just to be sure that what I was seeing was correct I started to quiz him. Can you spell pig? How about cow? Blue? Daddy? Can you spell Owen? One by one the words were lining up on the fridge door. I’m pretty sure that my jaw hit the floor that day. It’s not bad, or wrong- it’s just…Owen:) I think I love him more because he just keeps going, defying the odds, ignoring the blueprint of how development is “supposed” to happen, and doing it all in his own way, at his own pace.

Leave a Reply

