Happy Holidays!

Happy Holidays!


Friends and Family,

I wish you all a Merry Christmas, Happy Hanukkah, Happy Kwanzaa, or anything else that you may celebrate.  I wish you all a Happy and healthy New Year.  It isn’t that I don’t feel these things.  It isn’t that I don’t care.

I think about how I should send Holiday cards but then I don’t have the energy.  I am sure you all remember the year I put my kids pictures in cards and forgot to sign the cards. All of you thought that was funny.  I don’t remember what was going on in my life that day.  Meltdown?  School called for the tenth time that week?  A crapisode?  I really don’t remember.

This year I just didn’t get around to it.  The entire time he is in school my energy was spent getting him to school and getting him to do work.  It is almost a full time job dealing with his health care, medications, and insurance.  And I have a full time (plus) job on top of it all.  I always wonder how in the hell people do it with more than one kid, and sometimes more than one on the spectrum.  Many have way more therapies to deal with than we do.  I don’t know, some days I just don’t know how any of us get through.

I love and accept my son for who he is.  There is no doubt about that.  I know who he is and I am okay with that.  I wasn’t athletic or social either and I turned out just fine.  I love the holiday cards although I would understand if you quit sending them.  However, I really don’t need your newsletters.   That is great that your 10 year old is the most popular person in class.  That is great that your 14 year old is MVP of the soccer team for the 3rd year in a row.  Wow, student counsel that is awesome!!

I could think of really awesome things to put in that newsletter but most of you wouldn’t understand how awesome those things were.  Would you understand how awesome it was that he self advocated for himself to be taken out of main stream classes?   Would you understand how awesome it was that he told me why he was refusing school.  The things that we feel are a big deal are probably not the same as you.  There are many other things I could brag about but here we live day by day.

Maybe if I could find the energy I would send you a card with a newsletter.  Maybe I would tell you about what a great support group I have found through blogging, Twitter and Facebook.  I am not sure you would understand though.

But Happy Holidays anyways!!

Trackbacks

  1. […] Are HereButton CollectionContactSeries on BullyingWhere I have been ← Happy Holidays! December 24, 2011 · 8:48 am ↓ Jump to […]

Leave a Reply

