My Love/Hate Relationship with Change


My husband is like my son and hates any kind of change.  A few years ago we moved from one side of town to the other, nicer, side of town.  My husband argued every step of the way.  But I forced the move because where we lived was not a nice area and it was steadily going down hill.  It took him a while to forgive me but then he thanked me multiple times!

I have a love/hate relationship with change.  I find some of the changes on Twitter to be nauseating.  Especially the first time I logged in.  And don’t get me started on facebook!  I still don’t care that my husband’s cousin read some article about Jennifer Lopez or whatever else anyone else does.  Seriously, who wants to know that?

And then other changes I love to make.  I love to make really extreme changes to my hair.  Just a couple of weeks ago I had it dyed black and cut rather short.  This really freaked out my family.

I was sitting in the chair after we dyed it thinking “Oh crap, is this going to cause a meltdown?”  He did say “NO” when I walked in the door but then he seemed to move on.  I usually try to warn my son before any change to anything.  It really upsets him.  Sorry my son, that I didn’t tell you I was going to change my hair!

And now for the apology to you, my readers.  I am sorry I changed the look of my blog.  I don’t think I am done yet so don’t get too used to it yet.

Do you love it?  Hate it?

Do you love or hate change?

Does it make a difference if it is a good change?

 

 

Comments

  1. Thank you for this… Change is difficult for many of us, but I think more so for those who find the world comes at them unevenly at times.
    I get it…
    Here is a post from the 30 Days of Autism archives on handling change. Thought you might like it 🙂
    http://30daysofautism.wordpress.com/2011/04/04/186/
    Leah

  2. Love the changes to the look of the blog! My boys have a difficult time with change. They don’t really talk about it. They just have meltdowns. Fun times!

  3. I think the blog looks great. I hate change too. Most change at least.

    I’m stopping by from the hop and am a new facebook, twitter and rss feed follower. Would love it if you’d visit my Facebook page
    http://www.facebook.com/myBabySleepGuide

    blog
    http://www.mybabysleepguide.com/

    and twitter page
    http://twitter.com/#!/babysleepguide/

    Thanks!
    Rachel

  4. I love your new look! And my husband hates change, too. It doesn’t bother me too much as long as it’s outcome is predictable. For instance, moving to the better side of town will obviously be an improvement, so, it’s not scary. Venturing into the unknown is hard for me though. Love your blog!:-)

    • Cassie- thank you for stopping by and saying you love the look. That is how I am if outcome is predictable then I am good with it 🙂 Will make sure to stop by to visit your blog.

      SJAdvocte- good point about needing time to adjust to the change. That seems to help my son but it seems to make my husband more anxious. Nice to meet you and I just stopped by your blog 🙂 Great to meet you!

  5. This is my first visit here so I can’t comment on how you’ve changed your blog. But change is difficult for me. It throws me off. I need time to adjust, even if it’s a good change. I’m working on a major move up the East Coast now, and I’m glad I have six months or more to do it so that I can adjust to the fact that I’m actually doing this as I move towards my goal.

  6. I don’t mind change, nor does my son. But his reactions whenever I get something done to my hair is funny. He has stare and touch, like he’s seeing if it is real.

Leave a Reply

