“Mourn for the dead and fight like hell for the living.” #vigilforGeorge

“Mourn for the dead and fight like hell for the living.” #vigilforGeorge


I organized the local candlelight vigil for The National Day of Mourning. Please see here for my previous thoughts on this horrible tragedy.  And here for more information from ASAN and the national event.  I don’t have much more to say and I am pretty spent after the vigil and reading all of the other blog posts about the “epidemic” of autism. I really can’t say any more right now and am trying to process and think of a nice way to say what I am thinking.  Parents should always love their children.  No matter what.  We are to protect them and love them.

Here is my event in pictures:

20120331-072932.jpg

My husband (and Rusty!) helped by making the back to the poster so it would stand up.  I was grateful and glad that my husband was so involved.

It was raining so he also had to help set up the canopy.

20120331-073020.jpg

We did not have many people show up.  Maybe because it was raining or because it was late notice.  I hope that we can do this again next year and really plan and promote it within the community.  But the people that did come were really moved by this and were telling me of other people that they spoke to about the event that were also very moved by the whole idea of it.

20120331-072948.jpg

I spoke briefly about my thoughts on the tragedy and some of the participants spoke briefly as well.  I then read the names and how they died while a candle was lit for each person that died so horribly.

Please read the list of names and how horribly they died. I hope that we honored them as much as they deserved. I do hope that this is an annual day of remembrance.

20120330-230931.jpg

(thank you ASAN for providing the poster art)

20120331-073000.jpg

20120331-073009.jpg

“Mourn for the dead and Fight like hell for the living.” Well said Mother Jones!  Please stop the hate.

 

Disclaimer:  “I give my permission for this post to be reprinted in order to raise awareness of this issue.

Comments

  1. It is nice to remember those who passed, but because they are dead, they can not do, hear or feel anything. Those who are left over or still being alive are the once who still feel and are hurt by the thought of what happened or of the one they had to to put in the grave or incinerator.

    That the Autism Society did not mention George name could be out of respect for his family who have to face the horrendous tragedy that George mother took his life out of this world.
    Not having had services for the deceased does not have to mean there is no respect for that person. The person can still be carried in the heart of many. But for George himself such a service would not do anything.

    Therefore it is good that you want to keep a service for those who stayed living here on this world, for they can need some support and need to go on living. For George everything has ended on the moment his own mother made an end to his life.

  2. usethebrainsgodgiveyou says:

    Found you on Dude i’m an Aspie’s sight. I went to Atlanta’s memorial at the Shepherd Center. I didn’t realize the Mother Jones quote came from the poster from ASAN. You know, we were the only people representing ASAN there as far as I could figure out, and were there by chance…especially considering we were lost and were half an hour late!!. There is a group of disABILITY rights activists in Atlanta, headed by Linda Pogue, who are very good about putting themselves out there for the disabled, and they seemed to have set up the whole deal along with the Sherpherd Center, a rehabilitation center for TBI and spinal cord injury. What I”m trying to say is, their communications were already set up! They have a group of activists that I have been in touch with before….long story.
    I don’t know where you are, but you might get hold of Linda Pogue to see if there is a group like hers in your area. Here is the link to their webpage http://disabilitylink.org/wordpress/

    There were quite a few people in wheelchairs at the event, and they are very active politically. Bad-asses, I’d say, fighting for their own place in the sun, although many would like to shove them back in the shadows…

    Good luck with your son!! Mine is 18 and going to Tech. In “our” dreams, he will attend Georgia Tech one day. They are quite accepting of “creative minds” from what I hear, knowing that the innovative future lies there. NT’s can’t innovate their way out of a paper bag…just saying…

    • Thank you for stopping by. And I am sorry you had trouble commenting (saw your other comment) I thought I set it so comments would not need moderation but apparently I didn’t click the right button.

      Anyways I really appreciate the information. I do want to work with other advocates. That is how we have the most affect.

  3. Wonderful beat ! I wish to apprentice whilst you amend your site, how can i subscribe for a
    blog web site? The account helped me a applicable deal.
    I have been tiny bit acquainted of this your broadcast provided vivid transparent idea

Leave a Reply

