I’m BACK!

I’m BACK!


Hopefully for good! I can’t believe that I actually blogged while I was in the hospital. Although I do vaguely remember that night. I was so noisy I couldn’t sleep. But I was probably on a lot of drugs and confused in general. This blog post isn’t really the most organized either but wanted to at least update everyone & say Hi!!

The first hospitalization was very long & full of complications. Everyone was very concerned that I wasn’t going to make it. It was making me a bit crazy how many times I was told how sick I was or how I would for sure have died if I was older. How they were hopeful I would work through it and be okay because I was young. Well I survived.

I was very sick when I was discharged and I ended up going back to the ER. For any nurses reading this- If someone comes to your ER saying they have severe abdominal pain for a few hours & are trying to explain to you that they came in so soon because of their medical history. Don’t blow them off & don’t treat them like they are seeking pain medication. The attitude is so not helpful when someone is sick. Yes I was joking around. Not because my pain wasn’t real but because all I could do is joke around. I was trying to cope with the fact that I recently almost died and yet here I was again. But I was hopeful I caught it in time & that is why I came in so soon after the pain started. For me abdominal pain means something. As my lab results and how the doctors who knew me treated me finally showed you. I saw how your attitude changed then. That is how you should treat someone initially.

Anyways the 2nd hospitalization was better medically but worse because I was alert and oriented. This time I was only NPO (NOTHING by mouth, no food, no water, only this:20120630-215112.jpg) for 4 days. But it felt like an eternity because I was alert and oriented. My pain was controlled pretty quickly this time & so I rarely had pain meds after the first 24 hours so I just waited….

While there I did start reading Marie’s book, Twisted. Marie is a super cool Aspie who had her house damn near destroyed in the tornado’s last year. The book is interesting because it talks about all of their struggles & how it was worse because they are aspies. You know- routines screwed up, can’t just sleep anywhere, hard to accept help. But the book was actually timely for me because she talks a lot about how she was so grateful for all the help she received. And how she learned who really cared.

During this whole illness I have really had a lot of epiphanies. I really did learn who I could count on and who is just, well, not so helpful. So many people have given me well wishes online & in real life. It was all so very touching. I received cards & flowers from people that I just didn’t expect to hear from. It really made me feel loved & appreciated. Especially by some really close friends. And my family. My husband and son both were so kind and helpful. It has really made me proud the way my son really stepped up throughout all of this.

Even under adversity he has been cooperative! On one of the first days I was home and by myself he spilled water all over his laptop and bed. Not just a small glass of water but a huge beer mug that my husband had gotten at an Octoberfest. It is Sheldon’s favorite glass and I don’t complain because he drinks tons of water. Anyways the laptop did not survive this accident. The last time his laptop was out of commission I took it in right away. It was only gone for a week but every single day I had to go over it with him again. Sigh. I couldn’t deal with his laptop.

I explained to him one time that I would take care of it when I felt better. Not a word, not once, about his laptop. He again borrowed mine but it is much slower. Not a word though and it has been weeks. I just recently sent it out and who knows how much that will cost but that is what happens here.

Broken laptop was the least of my worries and I am proud of him for understanding that.

I am hopeful that this is the end of my medical issues. Although this last admission I was told I have a pseudo cyst. This will either go away (HAHA, I can hope), or will need surgery due to complications or due to becoming larger or apparently it can become hardened. All I can do is take it day by day and modify my diet.

Ah yes the diet. I have thrown out the GF/CF diet because I just couldn’t deal with THAT many restrictions. I am not eating any fried foods, no alcohol and limiting fat & caffeine.

Well enough for now. Hope to have more interesting adventures & thoughts in the future. Thank you again everyone for your well wishes & support!!!

 

Comments

  1. Welcome home! I spent some time in the hospital myself in February. You really do find out who your friends are. Hope you are able to truly recover now.

  2. Welcome back 🙂 I’m very glad you’re doing better. 🙂

  3. Welcome home, so glad you’re OK. and brilliant that your son understood so well about the laptop. Hope your recovery goes smoothly now x

  4. Gretchen Leary says:

    Glad you’re okay now. Stay strong hun. 🙂

  5. So glad to have you back!

  6. Good to hear you’re on track to recovery. Take care.

  7. Take it easy : )

  8. Wow! I’m so happy you’re feeling better! And the type of people who blew you off in the ER make me so angry! I’m glad they finally listened to you though. Stay strong!

    • Thank you everyone for the well wishes. So appreciated!

      And Yeah MarsupialMami my mom is a nurse & she started making comments about people seeking pain meds. I made sure she knew what i went through!! Don’t judge people. GRRRR!!

  9. Welcome back. I am glad that you are well. I had a feeling that things were serious and scary for you, and then, like a weight, I felt you were better. I’m not one for spooky metaphysical stuff–just sayin’

    I’m am looking forward to catching up with you and checking out Twisted. We had a two week power outage when we first moved here and I thought I was going to have a nervous breakdown. Knowing I’m on the spectrum helps to adjust with expectations.

    I hope that you continue to feel well and be healthy.

    Happy Day!
    Lori

  10. Gretchen Leary says:

    I am so happy you’re doing better.

    Get stronger. The world needs you. 🙂

    (No pressure)

Trackbacks

  1. […] moving his PS3 and big screen TV in there. So then there was a big to do this summer with his computer. We ended up buying him an Alienware harddrive. We decided to hook it up to the big screen TV. He […]

Leave a Reply

