Happy New Years and Thank You!

Happy New Years and Thank You!


The year will be ending soon and we will celebrate as we have the last few years. We will stay home and eat yummy fried foods while watching TV and/or movies. Sometimes we stay up until the countdown and sometimes we don’t. It is just a nice relaxing evening. But the one thing we must do is have pork, sour kraut, and Spaetzle on New Year’s Day.

I have already summarized our year for the most part in my 2011 Newsletter but I have a much more important mission in this post.  I have so many people to thank for their support.  I decided to start blogging this summer shortly after learning of my son’s diagnosis. I did this because while on the internet looking for answers I read some of the most amazing blogs from other parents.

It was very scary to start blogging but I wanted to tell people that my son is 14 and look how far he has come! We still have a long way to go but I am so proud of him. I thought maybe this information would help others but what has happened is so much more than that. I have received so much help for my son. When I have discussed issues other parents and Autistics and Aspies have commented and helped me understand or at least feel okay with things. I am so immensely grateful for this. I can never fully express this.

And now I have a confession to make and this is a bit awkward for me but it is so important to be said. When people say that kids need to learn to deal with bullies because it makes them resilient I just want to scream. Why? Because I was bullied and I know how this has so profoundly affected me. I used to be obsessed with the stats on my blog. Do people like me? Do people read what I write? Do I sound stupid? Inside I am still that kid that was picked on in school. I am still picked last for the team and I am still the only one not invited to the party. And the few times I was invited to a party I had no idea how to act because I was invited so infrequently.

That is how I feel now. Every time someone comments, follows me on Twitter, or likes my page I get excited. Every time someone mentions me or #FF me or says something complimentary about my blog or about me I get a mix of emotions. I am so excited and humbled but also so overwhelmed and unsure what to do sometimes. I have also had times where I have thought about quitting the blog and just giving up because I am not as good as so many others.  But then I try to remember that if I am just helping one other person that is all that matters.

I just really want everyone to know how much I appreciate every single comment, like, follow, mention, #FF, Klout, encouraging word, and support. If I don’t respond or respond “appropriately” I apologize. If I don’t return favor “appropriately” I also apologize. Although I know I can’t possibly thank everyone there are some people I do need to specifically say thank you too. I don’t want to get all sappy or single white female. I just want to say thank you and hope that others will check them out and find some new info/friends as well.

Extreme Gratitude to some wonderful People:

Right around the time I was about to start my blog I saw an announcement that Kim Stagliano was going to be in the area for a book signing. I am sure she doesn’t remember me since she sees a bunch of people but I do remember her of course. I had just had surgery and was on vicodin but I was going to go see her because I knew I wanted to meet someone in person that writes about Autism. I honestly don’t agree with everything that Kim says but I respect her. I have looked into her eyes and I know how fiercely she loves her girls. I get it that Kim is in a different situation than me and I respect her for who she is and why she feels the way she does. Her children are different than mine and I don’t know what I would think or feel if I was her. I have had some fun conversations with Kim on Twitter and it helps me remember that even if we don’t always agree that is okay. We are still on the same team, we want the best for our kids. I could write a whole blog post about supporting others even if we don’t agree with what they say, oh wait I did.

Before I started blogging I had looked at many blogs and one in particular that I remember looking at is Confessions of an Asperger’s Mom. I thought our story situation sounded similar and I really admired her blog. The fact that she has regularly visited and commented on my blog means so much to me! Karen is extremely supportive, kind, and I still love her blog!

One of the weekends when I really felt that I should just give up I received an email from Rachel Cohen-Rottenberg semailed me asking if she could reprint my post on her website. Seriously? Yes!! And thank you so much!! She also posted my post Who Really Lacks Empathy on facebook. I can’t express enough gratitude for this encouragement to keep going. If you have not seen her blogs you should really stop by. You will learn a lot about how adult autistics really are the best advocates.

Where do I even begin with Marie Porter. She is on Twitter as @Celebr8nGener8n through her business and also as @PorterHouseLife to discuss Asperger’s which she started after this post she wrote Aspergers: You can’t Cure “Awesome”. Marie is truly awesome and has commented that my son reminds her of her which makes me feel really good. She is a true friend and I really can’t express how much I enjoy talking to her and how much I have appreciated her support. This post by her here is an example of when I was overwhelmed by gratitude. She has helped me through so much with my son. She has truly helped me understand what he is thinking on numerous occasions. She encourages me in ways that I can’t fully express. She also inspired my post about how we all need to Love and Accept our kids. Thank you my friend.

Sue Kam is another person that I can’t say enough about. She has written a book about her daughter’s experiences about bullying and autism. Sue is a wonderful, supportive, and a knowledgeable person. I am still overwhelmed by this post here which inspired this post. I encourage all of you to go to her post of gratitude and check out all of the wonderful people that she recommended!

Laurie Mitchell is one of the kindest, funniest people on Twitter. She is also an awesome Autism Advocate and is always very supportive. Far more supportive than I could ever have anticipated. She is also a Dexter fan!! Super fun!

Leah Kelley is so wonderfully supportive! She is so incredibly nice to everyone. She has done so much to support others, including me. And I think her son is going to grow up to be a wonderful advocate because it seems he has already started!

Shelley Kramm who I met through The Sits Girls. I went there to get help and I sure got it! I had never had a twitter account until I went there and they told me I had to have one. So whether you like or hate my tweets blame them!! Shelley has always been very supportive and I have mets lots of great people through her site.

Katrina Moody is another blog I had stalked prior to starting my blog. I was very happy to find her on twitter and even more pleased when she started stopping by my blog!

Other wonderful friends and supporters (really I could go on for pages! soundless2, MyAspieLife, HardAspie, LifeAgitator, Bobbi Sheahan, Elise Ronan, Opieseek (first person said loved my blog :)) @thatgirl815, @Mother_Warrior, @BlueCrisps, @Elusiveteniq13, itsBridgetsword, Dr. Frank Gaskill, Zoie, Maya (Marfmom), Kristin Macchi, Gavin’s Gang, Kyle Conrad. Also all of the people that are not bloggers or have pages but have liked my facebook page- you are all awesome!!  If I haven’t listed you I am sorry, I truly appreciate everyone’s support!! I had to stop somewhere 🙂

And I can’t forget my husband who encourages and supports my blogging and tweeting hobby/addiction 🙂

And most importantly my son who is very supportive of his life being shared and has enjoyed and appreciated some of the comments and tweets that I have shared with him. But he is very grateful that I did this anonymously. He said “Good I don’t want to be like “Meet the Fockers.”” (Gaylord’s mom was a sex therapist and would discuss details of Gaylord’s sex life on the radio, in case like me you don’t remember those details like him).

I hope that you will all continue to be supportive and stick around for the rest of our journey in 2012!  I also hope that everyone has a wonderful, healthy and Happy New Year!

Comments

  1. What a wonderful post to end the year with! I am honored to be included in your list. I’m not a blogger or author or speaker. I’m a grandmother helping to raise 2 beautiful girls, one on the spectrum. I am very grateful for all the support and kindness that is freely offered to me daily on twitter. And YOU are one of my favorites. I’m glad you are still blogging! Happy New Year!

  2. I’m so glad to know how much I’ve helped you! I’m really glad we’ve bumped into each other. I love the work you’re doing and your approach to helping your son.

  3. Thank you so much! I haven’t responded to your email yet, but Mark & I are soooo grateful for all the information you sent last night. Like seriously, I was just about in tears with how excited I was. I have been stressing out over this move big time and having those resources right there is such a blessing…I felt like a huge load was taken off my shoulders. Thank you! 🙂

  4. I’m blushing! Thank you for including me in this post. You are off to great start with your blog. I appreciate your stories so please keep on sharing and undoubtedly you will continue to help others. I love this community! Everyone is so supportive and non-judgmental. And everyone is great about spreading the wore and helping fellow bloggers and parents on this autism journey. Don’t ever doubt yourself. All of us have something unique to share…because all of our children are unique.

    Happy New Year!

  5. I’ve only started to blog recently but not as frequently as you. I LOVE reading other people’s blogs (like yours) and feel priviliged and grateful for the many new friends (especially mums of special needs) I have found on sites like Facebook and Twitter.
    There’s nothing like being open and honest and I think that comes through in your blogs as well as your deep love for your son.
    All the best for 2012 and I hope it’s the best year yet. 🙂

  6. Thank you for the mention. It has been a true pleasure reading your blog and connecting with you.

    I wish you all the best for 2012 ❤

  7. Capability says:

    Lovely post and a wonderful shout out to people in your life -virtual or otherwise!

  8. This is a wonderful post. I am stuck on the part where people say “kids need to learn to deal with bullies because it makes them resilient.” Who says that?! It is so wrong I don’t even know where to begin…

    But I don’t want to focus on the negative part of your post, because there is so much positive. 🙂

    Stopping by from The Mom Pledge blog hop…

    • Thank you! Unfortunately yes some people say that & say we coddle children when we try to take an anti-bullying stance. I won’t quote because I try not to attack other people for their opinions (why I took the pledge:))

  9. I haven’t been on my computer much in the last few days. I was enjoying time with my son and daughter before he returned to school today.

    I am honored to have inspired you and to be included with such a prestigious group. I hope 2012 is a better year. BTW, I know how easy it is to make a typo and I don’t want you to worry about it, but it is Kam, not Kim.

Leave a Reply

